God Is Your Forever Ride or Die #JesusWalksWednesday

I ain’t here to argue about his facial features
Or here to convert atheists into believers
I’m just trying to say the way school need teachers
The way Kathie Lee needed Regis that’s the way I need Jesus

-Kanye West

I consider myself a Christian about 80% of the time, then they do something stupid and I have to distance myself. I use a percentage because I don’t agree with everything that society identifies as Christian, yet I believe in Jesus Christ, I read the Bible, and I belong to a Church. Since this is my first religious post, I feel the need to contextualize.

Love Song in My Soul is about music and my love for music is not limited to secular music. Hymns and Negro Spirituals have a very special place in my soul. There is something about singing the same words that you know your ancestors sang to survive. The experience is poignant and powerful. I have a very emotional tie to those spirituals. All of these songs impart Biblical lessons that you can apply and use whenever you need to.

On my way to Church last Sunday, Pandora set me up. Yolanda Adams “In the Midst of It All” came on and I almost ran off the interstate. Her voice on that song right there. That song right there? Between her lyrics and her intonation, if you don’t feel something stir up, you might be dead. The song begins with her sweet second soprano plainly stating “I’ve come through many hard trials. Seen temptation on every hand.” The music and her voice builds and builds and explodes in an exultation of thankfulness and joy.

The lyrics of the bridge really hit home for me. The concept of the words are at the core of my Christianity.

Not because I’ve been so faithful
Not because I’ve always obeyed
It’s not because I trusted him
To be with me all of the way
But it’s because He loves me so dearly

Many Christians base their faith on duties believing that those tasks will earn them a gold star and a spot in Heaven. But, you can’t earn God’s love. There is nothing you can do on this little planet to earn the adoration of the entity that created the entire Universe. It just happens. The love, the presence, the connection just happens because you exist. You didn’t earn it and you can’t lose it.

Psalm 139 describes the omniscience of God this way. (Reading from the New International Version, saints.) “You know when I sit and when I rise” (Verse 2). The writer acknowledges that God knows his thoughts before he can form them and knew him intimately even before he was born. Then, he asks a series of hypothetical questions beginning in Verse 7.

Where can I go from your Spirit?

Where can I flee from your presence?

If I go up to the heavens, you are there,

If I make my bed in the depths [Hell], you are there,

Think about that for a moment. No matter what you are doing, God is there. And He loves you anyway. When you cheated on your taxes, He was there. When you bought those clothes from a booster, He was there. When you were kind to a homeless man, He was there. When you gave your relative some money, He was there. God knows us inside and out. And He loves us in the midst of it all. He is always there whether you believe it or not. You might as well say “Hello.”

Do you subscribe to a particular religion? If so, what is your “percentage”? Comment below. Of course, if you enjoyed this post follow and share.

 

2 thoughts on “God Is Your Forever Ride or Die #JesusWalksWednesday

Add yours

  1. Girl you must have been talking about me!!! I would say my percentage is 85%. I continually try to please God, but ALWAYS seem to fall short of His glory. It has only been in my recent study of His grace that I realized that I’m approaching His love wrong. He’s going to love me know matter what.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

